Looking Within

“Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.”  — Rumi

Always looking outside myself when I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that true happiness comes from within.  When oh when will I learn this lesson and just be.  Just be myself.

Something I read yesterday resonated with me: “The Law of Dharma says that there’s at least one thing you can do better than anyone else on the entire planet. When you’re completely absorbed in expressing your talent, time seems to stand still. You love what you’re doing and you enter the blissful state of timeless awareness.”

What is my one thing?  What are my passions?  What do I love doing most in the world?  Where for me does time stand still?

I have several passions; loving my man, working with our horses, taking photographs, yoga and cooking.

I’ve been too focused on the things that aren’t important in life, for example – my job, while it pays the bills, it doesn’t define who I am and yet I’m very pleased with myself in where and who I work for – where is the humbleness in that?  And trust me when I tell you it’s far from being a glamorous job. On the flip side I am bored lifeless with my job – it fails to inspire me so I have been consumed with the fear of finding a new job, making more money, possibly working for myself.  LET GO.  I have been consumed with the thought of the man I love who I have waited all my entire life for to wake up one day and say he doesn’t want to be in a relationship.  I have been consumed with the fear of him leaving and in that making myself miserable and pushing him away.   He tells me everyday I mean everyday how much he loves me, how beautiful I am and I am his queen.   LET GO.    I look to retail therapy to make myself “feel” better, I drink too much wine to make myself “feel” better.  I look at taking an online course like the 40 day fear cleanse to make myself “feel” better when all along everything I need everything I want is right here inside me.

Happiness comes from within.  LET GO.

About Della

photography a work in progress; always growing, continually learning
This entry was posted in change and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

