Finally

One month ago today I moved out.  One month ago I had no idea what was in store for me.  One month ago I never thought I’d be getting divorced from a man I’d been miserably married to for ten years.  Granted, we did have our moments however, the negative always out weighed the good.  This month has  been such a healing month.   This month has been such a struggle as I’ve run through the gamut of emotions.  Mostly sadness and anger.

Last week I started finalizing divorce paperwork and sent it to my ex yesterday.  I spoke to  him for a minute today.  He sounded far away and cloudy.  I know that he needs compassion more than ever right now.  I know he is struggling.   At this point for me it’s all about self preservation, nurturing myself and moving forward in a positive direction.  All of which I have been actively doing.  I feel a huge weight has been lifted.  I am lighter and happier than I’ve been in years.

In talking to my therapist I discovered the first time I felt betrayed by my ex and how that wound was never healed.  There was a repeat cycle to that hurt that never healed.  I carried the weight of that hurt and tried to dismiss it as nothing important.

I am finding my own voice.   I am growing and healing…..

 

About Della

photography a work in progress; always growing, continually learning
This entry was posted in change. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

