You can lead… but you can’t make….

I should have learned my lesson by now… well there are many lessons I should have learned by now and somewhere in there when it all comes down to it I suppose I’m a glutton for punishment.  However that is nothing to do with the matter at hand.    I have come to the conclusion that no matter what I do or say if someone doesn’t want help and doesn’t want to change then there’s absolutely nothing I can do or say until they themselves come to the realization( if they ever do) to decide to want help and/or change.    Until then, they are stuck in a downward spiral set on a self destructive mode and no amount of rescuing will change the outcome.  Stuck in their misery, pain and despair.   What is my role in this situation?  Certainly turning my back on them is not an option because I care and love them very much however much it pains me to see them angry and/or suffering…..

What does a healer do when a person comes to them over and over again for the same things in various forms, after the healer has specifically told the person what he or she must do to get better while the person takes no action for themselves and continues to change nothing but still requires treatment; the healer becomes a crutch for that person. Wherein the healer in order to facilitate some kind of change has to realize there are no more treatment options and lets the person go.

For me, I have/am detaching emotionally and although I will no less love her I have to let go.

“And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to bloom”   —Anais Nin

About Della

photography a work in progress; always growing, continually learning
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

