resilience

Upon coming home from my labor day camping trip in the Winds my fifteen year old kitty was nowhere to be found.  The kitchen window had been purposely left open and he taking liberty into his own paws pushed the screen out leaving behind a tuft of his hair to give me a clue of his disappearance.

I asked the neighbors, flyers were made and distributed, ad were placed both in the paper and on the radio and nothing.  Like a thief in the night he had vanished.   I came to the conclusion that he hadn’t been feeling well and went off to do his thing.   I was thankful to have had him in my life for as long as I did….

Three weeks to the Sunday he went missing I get a call from a girl that works part time at news and guide; she had found a kitty in the printing room of the paper; matching the description of the ad I had placed.  I was not even about to get my hopes up.  After all, how could he, an indoor kitty without his front claws, have survived the recent freezing temperatures as well as the wildlife that surrounds us (hawks, eagles, foxes, other cats, dogs etc)….   I drove to the  shelter and there he was, covered in ink, a bit disoriented and a little skinnier but otherwise just fine.

I happily took him home, gave him a bath and fed him; he was ravenous, he ate all day and it took him two full days to realize he was home again and could relax.

My little wild tiger roaming at the streets at his old age; kicking ass and taking names.

About Della

photography a work in progress; always growing, continually learning
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to resilience

  1. Brian says:

    That’s wonderful news! You go, cat! Fuck that chicken!

Leave a Reply

