prevailing…

This past weekend was exactly what I needed.  The first lazy non-hungover, do what I want and/or nothing at all kind of days.   Sunday, I woke up wanting to go for a run in the cool new autumn air.  yes, fall is indeed here as I ran through the woods looking at all the aspens turning to a brilliant gold. Last night after work I took the same run.  It was exhilarating.  Fresh cool air, finding my pace and just going.   I started by hiking a steep incline to get my heart rate up and then from there I maintain for about an hour by trail running.  It’s my new favorite thing.  Running as a whole is not my favorite, actually I hate running.  For instance if I have to run around a track for an hour forget about it. It’s miserable.   Trail running is challenging.  I have to pay attention at all times to my footing anticipating the next steps between rocks, stumps, mud, whatever the condition of the path.  I feel I’m slowly getting into better shape.  bit by bit.   We’ve made the decision to go home to the sunshine state at the end of October which means I have to kick ass for the next month; also with the onset of winter I want to be in much better shape than I was last year and if at all possible I would like to avoid by all means the “winter weight” factor.   Cooler weather craves comfort food and good beer.  I imagine by this time next month we will have had our “first snow” although it will melt and not start again until the end of November by then I hope it snows furiously until the end of March!  Lots of beautiful powder that keeps on coming.   It’s going to be an amazing winter. 

It seems with the changing of the seasons hopefully I can put everything that I struggled with this summer behind me and move forward in a positive direction.

About Della

photography a work in progress; always growing, continually learning
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

