days off are really nice

working again in the service industry has its ups and downs. I’m always thankful for my days off! Yesterday we took the opportunity to check out Ru Sans. Several of my customers have recommended their sushi buffet. I am hugely skeptical of a buffet much less a sushi buffet however to my surprise the sushi was fresh and delicious. The best part – ten dinero a person for all you can eat sushi! Not too shabby at all.

Trying to take one day at a time. Been feeling mostly lifeless and listless, uninspired and unmotivated. Trying to find a way to get myself out of this. I pinched myself this afternoon to make sure I could still feel….. It took a minute before I almost said “ouch.” My wine job which was great fun at first is now on my nerves and stupid people irritate me oh wait they always have it’s just a bit more obvious now that I have to actually interact with them. At least I’m getting a discount on wine and stocking up. I give it one more month or so?? We’ll see. Trying to decide where to go from here. Neither one of us want to stay in Charlotte. I’m not sure I want to move back to the Gulf Coast either however being closer to the Coast does have its advantages such as fresh fish!

In the spirit of trying to feel better I leave you with this below…. btw thanks BM and Brian for checking on me and thanks for the comments… BM, your reporting continues to get better and better. A bright light in the dark!!

Doing the Buddha’s Practice

By In myths from around the world, men and women have searched for an elixir that will bring protection from suffering. Buddhism’s answer is mindfulness. How does mindfulness work? Let me illustrate with a story that became the basis for the 1988 film Gorillas in the Mist. The movie tells the account of Dian Fossey, a courageous field biologist who managed to befriend a tribe of gorillas. Fossey had gone to Africa to follow in the footsteps of her mentor George Shaller, a renowned primate biologist who had returned from the wilds with more intimate and compelling information about gorilla life than any scientist before. When his colleagues asked how he was able to learn such remarkable detail about the tribal structure, family life, and habits of gorillas, he attributed it to one simple thing. He didn’t carry a gun.

Previous generations of biologists had entered the territory of these large animals with the assumption that they were dangerous. So the scientists came with an aggressive spirit, large rifles in hand. The gorillas could sense the danger around these rifle bearing men and kept a far distance. By contrast, Shaller—and later his student Dian Fossey—entered their territory without weapons. They had to move slowly, gently, and, above all, respectfully toward these creatures. And, in time, sensing the benevolence of these humans, the gorillas allowed them to come right among them and learn their ways. Sitting still, hour after hour, with careful, patient attention, Fossey finally understood what she saw. As the African-American sage George Washington Carver explained, “Anything will give up its secrets if you love it enough.”

Mindfulness is attention. It is a non-judging, receptive awareness.

Excerpted from: Doing the Buddha’s Practice, Jack Kornfield, Shambhala Sun, July 2007.

About Della

photography a work in progress; always growing, continually learning
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

